Finger Lakes 25K: Mudshow

Finger Lakes National Forest

Runners in the mist.

Not even the muddiest section.

Recovery gyoza.


The Finger Lakes 50 is a trail race extravaganza in the Finger Lakes Forest outside Ithaca, NY. Runners have the option of running 1 25k loop, 2 loops or 3 plus a “baby loop” for 50 miles. It was my first experience so I stuck with the single loop 25 K. Also I didn’t want to die. 

It was stormy all weekend and the trail was a muddy slogfest. I had come in with vague notions of trying to run…fast, but very quickly I let that go. I was running/hiking/slogging with friends, so we relaxed, chatted and enjoyed the suckiness. 

Leave a Reply

