Back to the start line

This spring, what with a hectic work schedule I was able to drop about five pounds pretty easily, and keep it off without much extra effort.

IMG_4369

Damn.

It is pretty amazing how quickly those five pounds crept right back on as soon as teaching was no longer distracting me from food and beverages. Wait, amazing isn’t the right word. Depressingly predictable, that’s better.

Compounding the blow to my ego was this article from Runner’s World, which discussed the importance of weight loss in speed training. (Spoiler alert: you are faster when you are lighter!) I used the fitness calculator from the article and found my “ideal running weight” to be even lower than the target weight I had noted in my New Year’s resolutions.

Of course, I know that these are impersonal numbers that do not give an overall picture of health, but the fact remains that the numbers on the scale are headed in the wrong direction. So what was I doing right back when they were headed in the right direction?

Salads, healthy snacks, planning my meals, drinking less alcohol…blah blah blah.

Well, at least now I know that all works.

Leave a Reply

