Tiny Track

Sometimes winter running gets to be too much of a chore. The cold, the dark, the layers…yuck. But not running just causes irritability and binge-watching. So, maybe the treadmill? What am I, a hamster? 

My neighborhood YMCA has an indoor track which is kind of the perfect solution. I say kind of because the track is 1/32 of a mile. 


That’s short. I get a little dizzy sometimes. But here’s why it’s still better than the treadmill: the view changes. Not much, but I still get the sense of pushing forward. I can alter my speed at will, slow for a few steps to catch my breath or surge ahead on the balls of my feet to beat my previous lap time. I am not enslaved to a robotic personal trainer. 

Leave a Reply

