Yoga

Everyone raves about yoga. I started going consistently this year, and y’know what? Everyone is right. Who would have thought that a thousand-year old strengthening and flexibility practice would be so helpful for a runner? 


Yoga gives me a change to appreciate all the small knots, bruises and contusions I’ve given myself. I have blackened toenail on my right foot and a bruised left knee. I favor my left side so my right hip and thigh are tight. I tense my left shoulder when I run so sometimes that aches. Doing yoga made me aware of all these idiosyncratic injuries and then took care of them. 

I go to yoga practice in running shorts and a Star Wars t-shirt. The running shorts are roomy and the t-shirt amuses me. As with running, I like that yoga gear is flexible and creative. 

Namaste.

Leave a Reply

