Marine Corps Marathon 

Well, it didn’t go well. Let’s start at the end. I completed the Marine Corps Marathon in 5 hours and 25 minutes. 

Halfway through, my old IT band went crunch and said, Slow down asshole. 

From then on it was a run-walk situation, which was not how I wanted this race to go. I stopped at a medical tent and had my knee wrapped, which helped for about 25 steps. My knee strap was sitting in a bin 300 miles away, and I cursed my lack of preparation. 

My brother pointed out the fact that all the lateral running we were doing may have irritated my knee. It was insanely crowded. It was like through a crowd of Black Friday shoppers who were really fit.


It was also a hot day, and dehydration doesn’t help the joints. I slacked on the yoga as well, so that might have had something to do with it. 

Whatever. I finished, my second marathon this year. I ran with my brother in an amazing race. I came across the meme below which sums my feelings up.

One thought on “Marine Corps Marathon 

  1. Pingback: The knee, again | Amiable Rambling

Leave a Reply

