Last week of the taper: short short runs

In this last week before the Marine Corps Marathon, I’m running a series of super short 2-3 mile runs. 


The nice thing about short runs is that you get ‘me over with quickly. It’s encouraging to get those little PR stickers from your running app…and you’re home faster. 


I ran this morning with no socks. It can cause chafing but I enjoy the super light feeling. Word of warning: your shoes may smell like you bum-kicked an angry skunk afterwards. 


The 2 mile course I ran does a nice little loop through downtown along the river. Streetlights are a welcome companion on these early morning fall runs. They help me avoid tripping and being crippled right before my big race. Very helpful. 

Leave a Reply

