Misty Morning Run

I’ve been contending with some IT band pain for the last few weeks. In the week leading up to last Sunday I rested, rolled on a foam roller and stretched but any run of over 50 minutes brought on shooting pain in my left knee. I finally picked up an IT “band”, which is essentially a thick velcro garter that compresses the IT band above the knee.

IMG_3312

The mist was rising through the trees: beautiful and spooky at the same time.

There’s much speculation on the internet (surprise! People disagree on the internet!) about whether these supports work, so I will only speak to my experience. I ran/hiked 13 miles over very hilly terrain over the course of 3 hours and 45 minutes. I had no pain until almost 2 hours in, then minor twinges on the downhills until about the 3 hour mark, and finally some noticeable* pain on downhills for the last 45 minutes. I call that a vast improvement.

IMG_3313

Some caveats to be aware of: I am no speed demon, so runners who can really tear it up might have different results. I walked more as the pain increased, naturally. I rolled and stretched before and after the run, of course.

IMG_3311

Also, there is a significant mental piece to this. Even before using the IT band support, I found that if I relaxed and reminded myself to “run light and smooth”, my knee would feel better. In the last hour of this run, I sang a song in my head about how my knee didn’t hurt at all to the tune of “It’s a Small World After All”. Whatever works, right?

*noticeable meaning I thought about checking my stride

2 thoughts on “Misty Morning Run

  1. Running with knee or foot pain sucks. I hope you get better soon. If it won’t get better maybe get medical consult for this. It may be nothing but otherwise getting it looked after in time can spare you from more serious problems.

Leave a Reply

