Winter Fun (…not really)

The hat that made it all worth it.

The hat that made it all worth it.

This past weekend I did an afternoon half marathon. The temperature was about 15 degrees when I started at 4pm, and it only went down from there. The course was a loop around a local community college campus, so I can summarize the whole experience in three words: cold. dark. boring.

Of course, I could add “painful” to that list, but that would seem like bitching. I am always happy to complete log race like this, but some races are more fun than others, and this one was definitely in the “less” category. After the first lap there was literally nothing new to see, but once the sun went down that wasn’t a problem anymore.

And yet…I’m happy I did it. I read somewhere “The worst run is the one you never begin”…or words to that effect…if that’s not a quote, it is now. I did something hard, and I survived. That’s worth something. Pride.

Leave a Reply

