List Life

IMG_2294

My weight over the past 6 weeks. It has not declined much.

I am a compulsive list-maker. I find it really comforting to write down what I have to do, then cross each thing off as I complete it. I think it comes from being a procrastinator: making a list gives me the comforting illusion of accomplishment.

IMG_2295

blog ideas, and other stuff I need to do

Listing my ideas for writing, for teaching, for places to go and stuff to try. I remember in a Richard Russo novel reading about a character who was a great success because every day she made a list of what would get her to her ultimate goal that day, and methodically crossed them all off – after doing them of course. That has stuck with me. The character was not a nice person, but I admire that simple formula for success.

Leave a Reply

