Back to running, slowly…

IMG_2239

Okay, so the first week of this fall/winter shape-up idea has gone well. I have run a total of 12.56 miles and swum 724 meters. That doesn’t sound like much but I swim just as a cool down to the running, and anyway I have to work! All of this is pointless if I fired. That would just sink me in to a pit of depression that would destroy all progress.

All of those miles have been on the treadmill, which I am not crazy about but my joints need an extended rest. I do run on a treadmill that has a screen built in that displays running courses from all over the world as I plug along. Its kind of cool but also kind of sad. I mean, the treadmill is what it is: a giant hamster wheel for people. Let’s not pretend its anywhere near as great as running outside.

Diet-wise I’ve fallen off the wagon. Above is what I ate this afternoon. Not pictured are the two beers I had with it. Millions of empty calories, I’m sure. I did walk back and forth to the restaurant, about twenty minutes each way. According to my running app, close to 300 calories round trip. Oh, well. Totally worth it.

IMG_2240

73 kilos.

Leave a Reply

