Stroke Buddy – my DIY reblog

This interview on WordPress brought back memories of my own stroke. I was 32 years old when I had a surprise cerebral hemorrhage that landed me in the hospital for four days. Initially I was just relieved to be okay. I recovered quickly and within a year was back to my usual activities, like running.

The experience did change me, in some ways for the better and other ways for the first. I became a bit of a hypochondriac…okay, more than just a bit. Things that used to freak me out just a bit, like heights and driving over bridges, now tend to reduce me to a quivering puddle of jelly. But I know how lucky I am to be able to run and talk and teach, and I take such joy from those things. I also have a scar on my brain. It’s not really a scar, its trace of iron from the blood that was left behind on my brain tissue. But I think of it as a scar, because scars remind us that we survived.

Leave a Reply

