San Francisco

photo 1 (5)

My selfie skills leave much to be desired. That’s the Bay Bridge in the background.

It’s the last weekend of August and I haven’t done much writing at all this summer. So, I will write about summer. 

In July Shizuka and I went out to San Francisco to visit my brother Eric with our parents. Eric and I ran the San Francisco Half Marathon together. It was the first time I had ever done a “destination race”, and I am happy I chose San Francisco as a destination. It’s no great insight to observe that SF is one of the most interesting cities in the USA. Wacky free-thinking liberalism seems to be wafting through the air…which is not a complaint. It’s also ground zero for developments in mobile tech, which in practical terms means the whole city is accessible through your smartphone. This is not really an exaggeration: we used Uber to get around town, which made every taxi ride an interactive experience.

photo 2 (7)

Running over Golden Gate Bridge, obviously.

 The half marathon was wonderful. “Wonderful” in the way running 13.1 miles through a hilly city is, which is to say “grueling”  but in a wonderful way. Eric’s girlfriend Liana quickly left Eric and I in the dust. Luckily we went over the Golden Gate relatively early in the race, ’cause later on I hit the wall big time. When Eric and I were approaching the finish line he suggested we put on a final sprint. I don’t think I was able to say anything coherent. We crossed in just over two hours, not my best time but not too shabby.

photo 4 (8)

Shizuka, I don’t think that would fit in our carry-on bag…

 photo 3 (4)The day after we drove out to the Napa Valley to visit some wineries. The Napa Valley is scenic and lovely and the scale and number of wineries is impressive. Shizuka and I tasted quite a bit of wine, and chocolate, and napped on the way home. 

It was a whirlwind trip, and exhausting, but in a great, exciting “wow-we-did-that!” kinda way. 

photo 5 (3)

Leave a Reply

