Re-reading

I have to admit that this week I have not been able to give much thought to my story, so this morning I decided to take a break from it and write about another habit. Reading is a long time habit/obsession/escape for me, but with work and grad school and the general craziness of life it is sometimes easy to fall out of the habit. So, when that happens, I have a simple solution: re-read. 

Maya Angelou said  that “Any book that helps a child to form a habit of reading, to make reading one of his deep and continuing needs, is good for him.” As a primary school teacher I know that interest is the best way to get kids into reading. Give ’em what they want, and they will read away. The same principle holds for adults. I personally believe that reading is good for the mind and the soul. It is a habit that fosters concentration, imagination and joy in the world, and so I want to maintain it. When that habit falters, you have to go back to basics.

 

My go-to re-reads are the Dresden Files by Jim Butcher. This is a fantasy series about a modern-day wizard who battles all kinds of modern day supernatural beasties in Chicago. The books are fast-moving, fun and scary. There are a lot of them, so every time I go back there are one or two I have forgotten. I have to hunt around, go to different libraries or bookstores to find what I want. After a while, I am back in the habit of reading and ready to branch out into new things. But Dresden is always there when I need him.

Leave a Reply

